Dear Son

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 2.34.49 PM.png

Happy 15th Birthday, Tuah Zayan. Alhamdulillah for having you as my son just as I am grateful for having my other children – Putra, Kalia and Nisha. On behalf of your mother and me, I feel blessed.

I am not a perfect father, neither have I ever been or ever will be. But you know what, so what! No one is perfect. But this I know – I try very hard to be a good father to you and your siblings. And you, Tuah, are not perfect (your doctor’s handwriting is a case in point). But you know what, so what! As long as I know that you are trying hard to be the best that you can be, that’s what matters.

Although you’re not that big, I know that you know that we’ve been through ups and downs and a continuum of experiences in between. We’ve struggled and we’ve triumphed. And we will continue to ride on this rollercoaster till the end of our days, insyaAllah. There will be cuts and bruises, but that’s what makes life interesting.

If there’s one message that I would like to give to you on this day when you were born 15 years ago, it is this – Make Your Life Extraordinary.

You could think of life as a simple linear timeline – you grow up, go to school, college, university, get a job, get married, have a baby, grow old and die. That’s what everybody does. But you, Tuah, are not everybody.

Life is a large blank piece of white paper. Sketch on it, draw, colour it, heck, put 3-D models on it. Make it exciting and yes, extraordinary. I can’t tell you what your dreams should be but dream you must. You want to jump off a plane? Bicycle to Europe? Walk to the North Pole? Whatever. Dream it, plan and do it. Do or do not, there is no try 😉

Before you become ‘fertiliser for daffodils’, Make Your Life Extraordinary.

Happy Birthday son!

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 2.23.34 PM.png

About yazidatan

Can I get back to you on this?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment