Let’s Get High – Run!

2016-01-19 09.15.26Who needs drugs when you can get high by just running.

I’ve been running a long time. Believe me –  a long, long time 😉  I’m writing this after a 32-minute run, including 5 sprints, one of them all out. I run about 3 times a week. On the other days of the week, I cycle or lift weights.

I guess I run mainly because I’m addicted. Since I get high on running and I’m addicted, I guess you could call me a running junkie. I’m writing this in the hope that you, the reader, would be encouraged to start running.

Nike? No!

If you don’t do any other exercise, running is a good way to get into the exercise habit because it’s so easy to start. All you need is a reasonably good pair of shoes. And don’t spend too much money on them. You can invest on an expensive pair once running becomes a habit, where ‘habit’ is loosely-defined as running twice a week (20 minutes each time) for 3 months. If and when you do buy those shoes, don’t buy Nikes. Nikes don’t last – the soles get dislodged easily, they’re not that comfortable and they’re expensive. I’ve had a number of Nikes over the decades; trust me on this. I like Asics, Saucony and Adidas. And no, I’m not in the running shoes business.

Get Out!

OK, now that you’ve got those mid-price runners, all you have to do is get out the door. That is the most difficult step (geddit, geddit?). Now, jog. At this stage, don’t worry about the notion of warming up, no matter what your PE teacher taught you in school. Don’t push it, just jog at a comfortable pace, but don’t stop running. Don’t stop, don’t even walk. Run, however slow. On your first day, do 10 minutes. If you can do 15, give yourself a pat on the back. Repeat the following day, or at least the day after next; not later.

If you haven’t been running a long time, the following day, your body might ache, apart from your legs. That’s just your body getting used to this new experience. I wouldn’t worry about it.

Facebook? No!

Oh and  after your first run, DON’T take a pic and post it on Facebook. Else, you might look silly if you give this up after a week. Wait for a year, when you’d actually *look* like a runner. Twitter’s OK, nobody knows you there. 🙂

Later! I should be back soon.

 

About yazidatan

Can I get back to you on this?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

