Following through

~ or the lack of it, is a common phenomenon but not-talked-about-enough trait.

In day-to-day dealings with people, it seems to me that many people have interesting ideas.  People have ideas that could potentially change the world, or challenge the likes of Google, Facebook and Apple or at the very least make a few millions.  But the way I see it, the problem with getting from ‘here’ to ‘there’ is following through.

After this great idea has been discussed, over coffee or teh tarik or whatever, the other party will say that he (for typically this is a man thing) will do this or he will do that.  He will email you this document or we’ll meet up again the following week, whatever…. some follow-through actions.

9 times out of 10, and I am not exaggerating here, nothing happens.  The guy would stop at Step 1 above.  You’d wait for that promised phone call or the e-mail or the sms.  Nothing.  So, you try to re-ignite the world-changing idea by calling or mailing and what do you get?  Zip.  Nothing.

It sometimes makes me wonder whether this is a Malaysian thing or whether it’s a global phenomenon.  But I’ve learned to live with this.  I’d still try to get to Step 2.  But if the second party still won’t budge after much prodding, I move on.  I don’t get angry with the guy anymore like I used to.

I go on to the next idea that will change the world, with or without that guy.  You coming?

About yazidatan

Can I get back to you on this?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment